A Window into America's Past
Museums in Old Louisville

The Speed Art Museum   Conrad-Caldwell House   Filson Club
UofL Photo Archives   Sons of the American Revolution   Planetarium


The Speed Art Museum
2035 South Third Street
Louisville, Kentucky 40208
(502) 634-2700

A Portrait of a Woman by Rembrandt
 Portrait of a Woman,


Mon - Closed
Tues, Wed & Fri - 10:30 AM to 4:00 PM
Thurs - 10:30 AM to 8:00 PM
Sat - 10:30 AM to 5:00 PM
Sun - 12 noon to 5:00 PM
Lunch in the Café Bristol
Tues-Sat, 11:30 AM to 2 PM
Donations requested

museum calendar
current exhibitions
future exhibitions 

The region's premier fine arts museum.  The museum is located on the northwest corner of the University of Louisville Belknap Campus. Permanent collections include 8000 pieces of art spanning 6000 years, with major sections devoted to  European Painting and Sculpture, Kentucky CollectionEnglish Renaissance Room, African Art, Classical Antiquities, Art of the 20th-Century,  Tapestry Gallery, and Native American Gallery


The Conrad/Caldwell House on St. James Court

The Conrad/Caldwell House
Historic home museum
1402 St. James Court
Louisville, KY  40208
(502) 636-5023

$10 Adults, $6 Senior, $4 Students (with valid id)
children, 5 and under, free

Tours times are Wednesday-Sunda 1pm & 3pm
with an additional tour on Saturdays at 11am


A magnificent Richardsonian Mansion on St. James Court. The finest in the city.
Also known as "Conrad's Castle," this is one of the most stunning of Old Louisville's houses and defines Richardsonian Romanesque architecture. The house was built for Theophilus Conrad, a Frenchman (Alsace) who made his fortune in the tanning business. The original construction price was $35,000.  Walk around it and enjoy its gargoyles, swags, massive arches and fleur-de-lis.  The Caldwell family purchased it in 1905 after Mr. Conrad's death.    They lived there for 35 years.  It next served as the Rose Anna Hughes Presbyterian (nursing) Home for 40 years. 
The St. James Court Association purchased the home in 1987 and turned it into a museum.  The non-profit St. James Court Historic Foundation, Inc. operates the museum

Inside you will find breathtaking woodwork, stained glass and fixtures.
Web site at http://conradcaldwell.org



The Filson Club in the old Ferguson Mansion

The Filson Historical Society
1310 S. Third St.

Louisville, KY  40208
(502) 635-5083
Historical Society, archives, research and museum all devoted to Kentucky History and Genealogy.

Mon.-Fri., 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sat., 9 a.m.-noon.
(there is a fee to use the libraries)

Special Collections Guide Index

Impressive archives and museum.  The artifacts currently on display in the museum include a cast of Jim Porter’s hand, a genuine Kentucky still, Daniel Boone’s famous “Kill a Bar” carving, handmade quilts, and various Civil War artifacts. In addition to the museum’s historical items, The Filson  art collection, which is displayed in the Ferguson Mansion and the museum, contains one of the most extensive collections of antebellum portraiture in Kentucky.

The Filson Historical Society, established in Louisville in 1884, is the oldest privately supported historical society in Kentucky. For over 100 years we have served the public through our extensive library, varied museum artifacts, and our Special Collections Department that includes original manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, maps, and portraits. We are dedicated to providing continuing adult education in the form of quarterly publications, weekly lectures, historic tours, art exhibits, reading-and-discussion groups, and weekend-long history conferences. The extensive collections of The Filson  form a regional educational resource that attracts national and international researchers.

The Filson web site features a calendar of upcoming events, an online version of the newsmagazine, and rotating exhibits featuring artifacts from special collections. The online exhibits will give visitors the opportunity to see some of the artifacts in the museum, but the emphasis will be on items not normally on display.


The Steamboat "Louisville," 1894, from the collection

University of Louisville
Photographic Archives

Ekstrom Library, Belknap Campus
(502) 852-6752

Mon.- Wed. and Fri. 10 a.m. until 4 p.m.
Thurs., 10 a.m.-8 p.m.

Vintage photographs and historical documents from a vast collection, most focusing on Louisville and Kentucky.

SAR Images

1000 S. Fourth Street
Louisville, KY 40203
(502) 589-1776
This is the National Headquarters and Geneology Library of the SAR
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.
On-line Library Catalog Search
SAR Home Page

Contains portraits of famous patriots,  a tattered 25-star flag from the War of 1812, a handmade model of Philadelphia's Independence Hall, a life-size replica of the Liberty Bell from the original's manufacturer, and a 40,000 volume library.


Gheens Science Center and Rauch Planetarium
University of Louisville
Belknap Campus
Behind the Speed Museum
Tuesday through Saturday
Check schedules on the planetarium website

U of L's new and improved planetarium is part of the Gheens Science Center.  The planetarium is bigger and more technologically advanced than its predecessor which closed in 1998.


Additional Links
Louisville.Com's list of  Louisville museums
Cultural Consortium


Old Louisville Guide Home Page
Old Louisville National Historic District

Home, Newsletter, News/Press Releases, Old Louisville Business Directory, History, Historic Pictures, Vintage Post Card Views,  Spring, Autumn, TerraServer Images, Maps, Calendar of Events, Walking Tours, Architectural Styles, Architect's Corner, St James Court, Belgravia Court, St. James Art ShowMuseums, Libraries, Literature, Churches, Bed and Breakfast Inns, Restaurants-Taverns, Recipes, Visitors' Page, Resources, Old Louisville Places, Our Lost Landmarks, Old Louisville, the Way it Was, Louisville Links, Feedback

Search WWW Search oldlouisville.com

(there are now over 1300 web pages on OldLouisville.com)
Click here for a comprehensive search of all 2800+ web pages on this server


Old Louisville National Historic Preservation District
America's Victorian Treasure

You are Visitor Number Hit Counter to the Old Louisville Guide since February 1998
We thank you all for coming by!